2022 Audie Awards Winners – Locus Online

The Audio Publishers Association has announced the 2022 Audie Awards winners, recognizing excellence in audiobooks and spoken word entertainment.

Winners and finalists of genre interest include:

Audiobook of the Year

  • WINNER: Project Hail MaryAndy Weir, narrated by Ray Porter (Audible)


  • WINNER: Project Hail MaryAndy Weir, narrated by Ray Porter (Audible)
  • dayzeroC. Robert Cargill, narrated by Vikas Adam (Harper Audio)
  • Orphan Wars, Scott Moon & JN Chaney, narrated by Luke Daniels (Podium)
  • ReadyPlayer TwoErnest Cline, narrated by Wil Wheaton (Penguin Random House Audio)
  • Pastel PinkNikki Minty, narrated by Khristine Hvam, James Patrick Cronin, and Jodie Harris (Nikki Minty)


  • WINNER: Rhythm of WarBrandon Sanderson, narrated by Michael Kramer & Kate Reading (Macmillan Audio)
  • The Sandman: Act IINeil Gaiman & Dirk Maggs, narrated by Neil Gaiman, James McAvoy, Emma Corrin, Brian Cox, Kat Dennings, John Lithgow, Bill Nighy, Regé-Jean Page, and a full cast (Audible Originals)
  • The Witch’s HeartGenevieve Gornichec, narrated by Jayne Entwistle (Penguin Random House Audio)
  • Princess Floralinda and the Forty-Flight TowerTamsyn Muir, narrated by Moira Quirk (Recorded Books)
  • Jasmine ThroneTasha Suri, narrated by Shiromi Arserio (Hachette Audio)


  • WINNER: Sherlock Holmes – The Seamstress of Peckham Rye, Jonathan Barnes, performed by Nicholas Briggs, Richard Earl, Lucy Briggs-Owen, India Fisher, James Joyce, Anjella MacKintosh, Glen McCready, and Mark Elstob (Big Finish)
  • The Coldest Case: A Black Book Audio DramaJames Patterson, Aaron Tracy, and Ryan Silbert, performed by Aaron Paul, Krysten Ritter, Nathalie Emmanuel, Beau Bridges, and a full cast (Audible Originals)

Middle Grade

  • WINNER: Playing the Cards You’re DealtVarian Johnson, narrated by Dion Graham (Scholastic Audio)


  • WINNER: LaterStephen King, narrated by Seth Numrich (Simon & Schuster Audio)

Short Stories/Collections

  • WINNER: black out, Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk, and Nicola Yoon, narrated by Joniece Abbott-Pratt, Dion Graham, Imani Parks, Jordan Cobb, Shayna Small, AJ Beckles, and Bahni Turpin (HarperAudio)
  • binge, Douglas Coupland, narrated by Douglas Coupland, Anna Faris, Bret Easton Ellis, Michael Stipe, Chuck Klosterman, Jarvis Cocker, Jane Pratt, Will Ferguson, Genki Ferguson, Salvatore Antonio, Katie Ryerson, Andrew Moodie, Lorna Wilson, Victoria Carr, Stephanie Belding , Liz Dunn, Selena Dhillon, Charlotte Shaifer, and Caleb Stull (Penguin Random House Canada)
  • The Best American Short Stories 2021Jesmyn Ward and Heidi Pitlor, eds., narrated by Brittany Pressley, Katie Tang, Ryan Vincent Anderson, Emily Ellet, Michael Crouch, Frankie Corzo, Adan Rocha, Priya Ayyar, JD Jackson, Johnathan Davis, Bahni Turpin, Robin Eller, Sarah Mollo-Christensen, Katherine Howe, Lisa Flanagan, Alex Mann, Robert Fass, Tre Hall, Graham Halstead, Piper Goodeve, and Sterling Sulieman (HMH Audio)

Young Adult

  • WINNER: Be DazzledRyan La Sala, narrated by Pete Cross, (Dreamscape)
  • The Prison healerLynette Noni, narrated by Jeanette Illidge (HMH Audio)
  • The ProjectCourtney Summers, narrated by Therese Plummer & Emily Shaffer (Macmillan Audio)

The winners were announced at a virtual awards ceremony on March 4, 2022. For more information, including a complete list of finalists, see the Audio Publishers Association website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support location with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.