How to Read ‘Outlander’ Book Series In Order

Courtesy: Outlander/Starz | amazon

Outlander fans have had a lot to celebrate recently – the return of the fantastical romance tale in its sixth season on Starz, a brand new storyline out of series author Diana Gabaldon’s newest tale, Go Tell the Bees That I Am Goneand news that a new prequel series is on its way.

There’s never been a better time to dive into the vast literary universe that makes up the Outlander series, either. Gabaldon confirmed earlier this year that’s she’s getting to work on the tenth, likely final, installation in the book’s main series. If you’re a fan of the Starz show but have yet to pick up any of the Outlander books, you may be surprised to hear there are more than a dozen published pieces that make up the world of the sci-fi-turned historical fiction tale. Canonically, however, there is a collection of main novels featuring series’ mainstays Jamie and Claire Fraser — nine in all. As these novels are designed to be consumed all their own, many series fans have only read this collection of novels that have inspired the Outlander series as we know it.

But Gabaldon has released additional shorter novels and novellas outside this collection, which diehard fans will likely wish to consume as well. They concern Lord John Gray primarily, and the four existing novellas can be read after you’ve completed the main series. The author says that those who are starting anew in reading the main series may wish to work these shorter Lord Gray stories into their lineup, however. These shorter tales can “be read alone, without reference either to each other or to the [main series] — should you be in the mood for a light literary snack,” Gabaldon shares on her official website.

While we’re recapping each of the main series’ novels in our guide to Outlander booksbelow, here’s how you can consume all of Gabaldon’s offerings in tight chronological order:

  1. virginsto novella
  2. Outlander
  3. The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel, a follow-up to the first novel
  4. Dragonfly in Amber
  5. A Fugitive Greena novella pulled from Seven Stones to Stand or Fall
  6. Voyager
  7. The Lord John Serieswhich includes portions of Seven Stones to Stand or Fall, Lord John and the Hand of Devils, Lord John and the Private Matter, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade and The Scottish Prisoner, amid others.
  8. Drums of Autumn
  9. The Fiery Cross
  10. A Breath of Snow and Ashes
  11. An Echo in the Bone
  12. The Space Betweento novella
  13. Written in My Own Heart’s Blood
  14. A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows, which is set within the novel above
  15. Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone
    1. Not sure if you’re in for 15 different tales? Here’s a recap of the main Outlander series books, with snippets of what occurs in each adventure.

    Advertisement – Continue Reading Below

    First ‘Outlander’ Novel


    We’re first introduced to Claire Randall, the series’ burgeoning heroine, as she reunites with her new husband after tending to wounded soldiers in WWII. It’s 1945 when Claire and her husband de ella go on a honeymoon and travel through the British Isles, only to find herself instantly transported back to 18th century Scotland in the midst of strife. Navigating the conflict between Scottish clans in 1743, this novel also explores how Claire first meets Jamie Fraser.

    Second ‘Outlander’ Novel

    Dragonfly in Amber: A Novel

    The second entry into the Outlander series brings readers back to Claire’s present reality, where she’s found herself back in the mid-1940s. Gabaldon brings readers along for the ride on a simultaneous adventure back in the 1700s through the streets of Paris, where Claire and Jamie work together to prevent the worst of the Jacobite Risings.

    Third ‘Outlander’ Novel

    Voyager: A Novel

    Claire now faces a personal impasse as she must choose between returning to Jamie in centuries prior and her husband and daughter in her own era. Just as she ends up finding a balance between the two worlds, Claire’s meeting with Jamie is cut short as they’ve become targeted by pirates. Witnessing Jamie’s nephew kidnapped, the pair set off across the big blue to save his family from him. This novel is a direct prequel to Gabaldon’s Lord John series.

    Fourth ‘Outlander’ Novel

    The Drums of Autumn: A Novel

    Readers spend time following Jamie and Claire’s previously mysterious daughter, Brianna, as she stumbles into a shocking discovery that leads her to the same stone circle that started the whole series. Brianna risks her life to reunite with her mother de ella and the father she’s never met — and ends up playing a part in saving Jamie and Claire from further misfortune, as the pair build a life in the New World.

    Fifth ‘Outlander’ Novel

    The Fiery Cross: A Novel

    In the decade prior to the American Revolution, we find the clairvoyant Claire and Jamie firmly established in the mountains of North Carolina — an area that’s experiencing a small revolution of its own. With uprisings leading to violent, territorial behavior among those in the province, Jamie and Claire fight once more to protect the community they’ve established at Fraser’s Ridge before the young nation rebels at large.

    Sixth ‘Outlander’ Novel

    A Breath of Snow and Ashes

    Picking up from what many readers consider a cliffhanger in the previous novel, Claire faces new challenges tied to her medical prowess, as those in her own community begin to speculate how she knows so much (spoiler: they accuse her of witchcraft!). Jamie faces a personal impasse on his values ​​and ties to Great Britain as the American Revolution begins to catch fire among other loyalists.

    Seventh ‘Outlander’ Novel

    An Echo in the Bone: A Novel

    Written in a style that’s most similar to Gabaldon’s shorter novellas, this entry in the main Outlander series recounts how the cast of characters handle themselves during the Revolutionary War. Readers will jump between storylines, following Jamie and Claire, Lord John, supporting characters Roger, Brianna and Ian, all as they face conflicts in America, England, Scotland and Canada at different points in time.

    Eighth ‘Outlander’ Novel

    Written in My Own Heart’s Blood: A Novel

    Diehard fans recall this entry of Outlander to have many historical references that line up with major American Revolution events, everything from Valley Forge to the Battle of Monmouth. Jamie returns from what readers likely presumed was a painful death to discover that Claire has been wed to his best friend in his absence from him. There is a mountain of other personal conflicts within this entry, including a narrative that allows readers to get to know nephew Ian in great detail.

    Ninth ‘Outlander’ Novel

    Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone: A Novel

    Recently released, this novel is set in 1779, a few years before the inevitable end of the American Revolution. Jamie and Claire have reunited once more and are safe at Fraser’s Ridge, and readers will be delighted to see Brianna and her husband, Roger, once again living with their parents. As Claire continues to foretell the raging war around them, she realizes that having her whole family under one roof may end up being more of a risk than anyone could have guessed.

    This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at

    Advertisement – Continue Reading Below

    Leave a Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *