How to Unlock Viera and Hrothgar Races in Final Fantasy XIV

To play as a Viera or Hrothgar character in Final Fantasy XIV, players will need to own the particular expansion tied to the races’ release.

The Viera and Hrothgar are two playable races in final fantasy XIVintroduced during Patch 5.0, the update following the release of the Shadowbringers expansion. The Viera are characterized as tall bunny-eared humanoids with tall stature and slender frame. Only Viera females were available as playable characters in the past, but since the Endwalker‘s Patch 6.0, Warriors of Light can now choose to play as male Viera as well.

On the other hand, the Hrothgar is a burly, lion-like race that currently only appears as the male gender in final fantasy XIV. Furthermore, the Hrothgar’s imposing countenance features naturally sharp claws and pointy fangs, a stark contrast to the soft and silky appearance of the Viera. Likewise, within Shadowbringers promotional media, Hrothgar were shown as powerful and tanky Gunbreakers, while female Viera were depicted as beautiful and dexterous Dancers. Nonetheless, final fantasy XIV is far from discriminatory to its playable races, allowing fans to mix and match race and Job with whoever they please. In other words, it’s perfectly acceptable and even more unique to roleplay as a Hrothgar Dancer or Viera Gunbreaker.


Related: Final Fantasy XIV: How To Get The Archfiend Attire

Still, a common question newcomers and Trial users might have when considering these two notable races in final fantasy XIV is how exactly to play them. This group of players might see that the options are visible on the character creation screen, yet they are unable to choose either of these races as their Warrior of Light. This predicament is due to a lack of ownership of the expansion before Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker2019’s Shadowbringers.

Unlocking Viera And Hrothgar In FFXIV

Unlocking Viera And Hrothgar In FFXIV

For clarification, owning a digital copy of Shadowbringers is required to play as a Viera or Hrothgar in final fantasy XIV. The best and recommended way to do this is by purchasing the “FINAL FANTASY XIVOnline Complete Edition,” which includes A Realm Reborn, Heavensward, Stormblood, Shadowbringers, and Endwalker. Those who own the “FINAL FANTASY XIV Online Starter Edition” only have access to To Realm Reborn and heavenward. Therefore, they can upgrade by purchasing the “FINAL FANTASY XIV: Endwalker expansion pack” instead.

These purchases will need to take place on the correlating storefront of the player’s account. For instance, if their FFXIV account is on PlayStation, then they will need to purchase the PS version of Endwalker or the Complete Edition. Likewise, Steam users are restricted to Steam, and those who use Square Enix’s default PC version must buy their expansion from the official site.

Next: Final Fantasy XIV: How To Get The False Shaded (& Classic) Spectacles

final fantasy XIV is available on PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, and PC via Steam or Square Enix’s official website.

Evil Dead Game Cast

Will Evil Dead: The Game Have A Single-Player Mode

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.